Weird American Christmas Traditions I Don’t Understand

Can someone please explain?

DeeDee
4 min readDec 17, 2022
Image by Styled Stock Society

We all celebrate Christmas in different ways, but it seems that there is a huge difference between America and the rest of the world when it comes to Christmas celebrations. Here are just a few that I find somewhat puzzling.

PS. Feel free to enlighten and educate me on these strange traditions.

Ugly Sweaters

Why do people want to gift ugly sweaters, let alone wear such a thing at Christmas? I’m sure it’s not really about keeping warm. I feel like it’s more about embarrassing the person who has to wear it.

I mean, if they refuse to wear it, that makes them look like a bad sport. Wearing something covered in gaudy, obnoxious, bad taste decorations for a day has to be pretty damn mortifying.

Thank god it’s too hot in Australia to wear such clothing at Christmas.

Photo by Melanie Rosillo Galvan on Unsplash

Popcorn Tree Decorations

Okay, so threading popcorn on a string is one thing, but draping it on your Christmas tree is a whole other weird tradition.

--

--

DeeDee

🇦🇺 Social Media Marketer & Content Repurposing Expert.