The Moment I Stopped Being Careful Was The Moment I Caught Covid

And Now I’m Suffering…

DeeDee
4 min readApr 12, 2022
Photo by CDC on Unsplash

For Two Years I’ve Followed The Rules

I stayed home during the lockdown, I wore a mask where it was required and even when it wasn’t, I used the check-in QR code everywhere I went…

Here in Queensland rules have eased. We no longer have to check in at most businesses, masks aren’t required, although we do need to wear them on public transport.

In fact, even the unvaccinated are being invited back to their place of employment.

For Two Years, I Was Never Sick

I’m that person who would catch every cold or virus going around. I suffered from multiple infections every year. When Covid became a thing, I never even caught a simple cold! I was the healthiest I’d ever been.

Was it because we all socially distanced? Or was it because we were more conscious of washing our hands properly, and covered our faces when we coughed or sneezed?

What Happened?

My partner got it first. Or at least showed symptoms first. I had no symptoms. We had a pack of RATs that had never been opened so we tested ourselves. He was positive in seconds, I tested negative.

--

--

DeeDee

🇦🇺 Social Media Marketer & Content Repurposing Expert.